Daily Prompt – Short Story – Day One

By the time I realized what had happened, it was too late. He ran out into the street and waved at the passing police car.

“What are you doing!” I began walking away. What on earth was that idiot thinking? I shoved my hands into my pockets and picked up my pace. The policeman would never believe what we had in our possession anyway.

I looked over my shoulder and glared at Mike who just then noticed me headed away from him and the policeman. He turned back to the car, and the confused men inside it.

I’d have to get to my hiding spot before the policeman could follow, or I’d have to move, that would be the better option. I sped up to a jog, then a run. Mike had lost it. If I didn’t shoot him, someone was sure to.

He’d be back probably within a couple seconds, it wouldn’t take long to lose a busy cop after all that had happened. Just as I’d predicted, as I grabbed the artifacts, Mike’s breathless words hit my hears.

“What happened back there?”

I only could glare at him so I didn’t kill him.

“Sara?”

I rolled up my blankets and tent, then packed up my backpack. By the time I could speak without gritting my teeth, I turned to him as I slung my bag onto my shoulders, “What makes you think he’d believe us, or care for that matter? Every cop in this country is reeling with what’s happened, the artifacts we have here are meaningless to them.”

He crossed his arms, looked down at the dirt and kicked at a rock, “What do you suggest we do? I can’t just be quiet about this.”

I sat down buff my shoes, to make myself more presentable for our next step. “We need to first hide what we have, and I have the perfect place, but you can’t say a single word, do you understand?”

He nodded quietly, looked down to his shoes and buffed them off.

“We need this case to be solid, Mike. We can’t screw this up. We hold the key to all that’s been happening, and if this gets into the wrong hands, we are all going to end up like your friend this morning.”

I was pretty sure I didn’t need to elaborate on what happened. His face contorted into a pinched mess, “I understand.”

“Lets move.”

via Daily Prompt: Buff

Author:

I'm a Southern momma and wifey. I speak movie-ese, love take-out and Netflix nights, and follow Jesus.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Short Story – Day One

  1. This is so intriguing. I have so many questions. What are the artifacts for? What do they do? What happened before this scene? Why won’t the cops believe them? Will you be continuing this story?

    Like

Leave a Reply

