Shaky Habits, Shaky Steps

“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God. May your gracious Spirit lead me forward on a firm footing.”   -Psalm 143:10 NLT

I have made a lot of mistakes in life. Who hasn’t, right? These mistakes though, have lead to irrational habit: I want to avoid mistakes.

While this is noble and wise to a certain extent, I go to the extreme and become completely frozen.

Without even blinking an eye, I know why I’m like this. Some of my mistakes were so severe that my life, and the lives of those I love the most changed forever.

So, I can understand why my brain’s pumpin’ them breaks!

This is no way to live a full, victorious life. A life we’ve already been promised. This is definitely not to say we won’t have trouble or problems, quite the opposite is true actually! But God’s Spirit in us gives us peace, comfort and wisdom (and whatever else we need) through the storm.

Look at the love and grace overflowing here in this verse! In this precious promise to those like me who are frozen in fear!

It’s not easy to do God’s will, we have to let our own pride and agenda die. However, surrendering is as easy as a decision, possibly one you have to repeat every few seconds, but still, it’s not miraculous, it’s mental. The miraculous part comes when I just can’t, and the Holy Spirit in me will take over if I let Him.

My husband is totally the opposite of me in this area! He’ll run through an open door, and expect God to shut it if its not His will.

I look at the door and I think, hmmmm, is this REALLY what you want? Will I miss the next door that I should have known to take? Is this a trick? Is this door really from you? I examine the wood, the nails, the structure and tip toe back and forth with a constant thought of, I don’t want to mess this up!

I know, it’s exhausting. This is why I am frozen.

The last part of the verse is my sincere prayer for all of us suffering with fear:

“May your gracious spirit lead me forward in firm footing”

Ah, the sweet peace of relief. Hang onto this, familia. The Holy Spirit inside each of us believers will give us sure steps. He’ll show us. If we surrender it will be clear.

Be still for a second in prayer. Release the tension in your mind, and just be there. Keep your focus on Jesus. Be thankful for what He’s promised to us.

Our way will be secure. And heck, even if we do slip and fall on our faces, who better to pick us up than Jesus! 🙂

xoxo

 

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close